Every once in a while I go into shut down mode, when nothing else matters. I lose track of my day and my life.I sit down to write a very stupid-serious piece, which would probably make sense to no one but me. I may publish it but most of the time it remains as page of my diary.. I listen to a lot of soulful music, they seem to be made to live in sync with my state of being at the time, not be confused with a sudden awakening or spiritualism. It just touches my inner chord. “Hallelujah” is one such for the moment, ceasing my being altogether.

 

“Hallelujah” is a song written by Canadian singer-songwriter Leonard Cohen, originally released on his album Various Positions in 1984. Achieving little initial success, the song found greater popular acclaim through a cover by John Cale, which later formed the basis for a cover by Jeff Buckley. Many cover versions have been performed over the years, both in recordings and in concert, with over 300 versions known. The song has been used in film and television soundtracks, and televised talent contests. It is often called one of the greatest songs of all time.

 

“Hallelujah”, in its original version, is a song in “6/8 feel”, which evokes both waltz and gospel music. The Welsh singer-songwriter John Cale, the first person to record a cover version of the song in 1991, promoted a message of soberness and sincerity in contrast to Cohen’s dispassionate tone. The cover by Jeff Buckley, an American singer-songwriter, is more sorrowful and was described by Buckley as “a hallelujah to the orgasm”. In September 2007, a poll of fifty songwriters conducted listed “Hallelujah” among the all-time “Top 10 Greatest Tracks”.

 

The lyrics are poignant and the melody is soul stirring. Buckley’s version was not an instant hit, nor did Buckley live to see the full measure of the reception his recording would ultimately have; he died in 1997. Am not an authority and am not a musician but Jeff Buckley’s version of “Hallelujah” does it for me each time.

 

The Lyrics

 

Hallelujah”

 

Well I heard there was a secret chord

 

That David played and it pleased the Lord

 

But you don’t really care for music, do you?

 

Well it goes like this:

 

The fourth, the fifth,

 

The minor fall and the major lift

 

The baffled king composing Hallelujah

 

 

 

Hallelujah, hallelujah, hallelujah, hallelujah…

 

 

 

Your faith was strong but you needed proof

 

You saw her bathing on the roof

 

Her beauty and the moonlight overthrew you

 

She tied you to her kitchen chair

 

She broke your throne and she cut your hair

 

And from your lips she drew the Hallelujah

 

 

 

Hallelujah, hallelujah, hallelujah, hallelujah…

 

 

 

Baby I’ve been here before

 

I’ve seen this room and I’ve walked this floor (you know)

 

I used to live alone before I knew you

 

And I’ve seen your flag on the marble arch

 

And love is not a victory march

 

It’s a cold and it’s a broken Hallelujah

 

 

 

Hallelujah, hallelujah, hallelujah, hallelujah…

 

 

 

There was a time when you let me know

 

What’s really going on below

 

But now you never show that to me, do you?

 

But remember when I moved in you

 

And the holy dove was moving too

 

And every breath we drew was Hallelujah

 

 

 

Hallelujah, hallelujah, hallelujah, hallelujah…

 

 

 

Maybe there’s a God above

 

But all I’ve ever learned from love

 

Was how to shoot somebody who outdrew you

 

And it’s not a cry that you hear at night

 

It’s not somebody who’s seen the light

 

It’s a cold and it’s a broken Hallelujah

 

 

 

Hallelujah, hallelujah, hallelujah, hallelujah…

 

Hallelujah, hallelujah, hallelujah, hallelujah…

 

Hallelujah, hallelujah, hallelujah

 

Hallelujah, hallelujah

